• Slide 1
  • Slide 2
  • Slide 3
  • Slide 4

Official Matador Motorsports Website

Our primary purpose is to engineer a Formula SAE compliant race car, aimed to maximize points earned in every point scoring category of competition, while remaining within the resources available at CSUN.

Team

FACULTY ADVISOR

Dr. Stewart Prince

Faculty Advisor

sprince@csun.edu

 

PROJECT MANAGEMENT

Alicia Eugenio

Project Manager

alicia.eugenio.264@my.csun.edu

Yousef Alfalah

Chief Financial Officer

yousef.alfalah.881@my.csun.edu

 

AERODYNAMICS

Jorge Guerrero

jorge.guerrero.797@my.csun.edu

Gerardo Hernandez

gerardo.hernandez.722@my.csun.edu

Ryan Hoang

ryan.hoang.183@my.csun.edu

Sara Lopez

sara.lopez.357@my.csun.edu

Bryan Rivas

bryan.rivas.43@my.csun.edu

Steven Sherrick

steven.sherrick.791@my.csun.edu

James Vu

james.vu.502@my.csun.edu

 

CHASSIS

Brandon Holt

brandon.holt.309@my.csun.edu

Alex Martinez

alex.martinez.622@my.csun.edu

Shunt Vartanian

shunt.vartanian.316@my.csun.edu

 

CONTROLS

Blumineaux Baes

blumineaux.baes.966@my.csun.edu

Asher Kennedy David

asher.david.26@gmail.com

Henry Erazo

henry.erazo.529@my.csun.edu

Hok Chun Lai

hokchun.lai.254@my.csun.edu

Lucia Magallon

lucia.magallon.305@my.csun.edu

Adrian Martinez

adrian.martinez.371@my.csun.edu

 

DRIVETRAIN AND MACHINING

Jesse Abelar

jesse.abelar.175@my.csun.edu

Dennis Dozortsev

dennis.dozortsev.819@my.csun.edu

Ryan McCalman

ryan.mccalman.331@my.csun.edu

Justin Moon

justin.moon.291@my.csun.edu

Rafael Ruiz

rafael.ruiz.427@my.csun.edu

 

ENGINE

Oscar Huinac

oscar.huinac.803@my.csun.edu

Joseph Marrone

joseph.marrone.205@my.csun.edu

Alexander Martinchuk

alexander.martinchuk.721@my.csun.edu

Luis Medrano

luis.medrano.107@my.csun.edu

Sandino Moscoso

rsandino.moscoso.52@my.csun.edu

 

SUSPENSION

James Gonzalez

james.gonzalez.914@my.csun.edu

Nicholas Herron

nicholas.herron.214@my.csun.edu

Jose Mendoza

jose.mendoza.386@my.csun.edu

Oyinemi Nesta Okoro

oyinemi.okoro.644@my.csun.edu

Michael Ryan

michael.ryan.288@my.csun.edu

Andrew Theodore

andrew.theodore.576@my.csun.edu

car

ENGINE

The engine is the heart of the car’s propulsion system. Therefore, Matador Motorsports considers an engine package that is both lightweight and high performance a critical priority. To develop such an engine, the design focus was on simulating the impact of various changes to the intake and exhaust systems of the engine in order to optimize air flow and thus ensure high power output without compromising reliability and fuel efficiency.

CHASSIS

A racecar chassis serves two major functions; it provides a rigid structural foundation that defines the shape of the car, and it offers packaging solutions for all the components. Through an iterative design process we’ve created a chassis that safely encompasses the driver and efficiently houses all sub-assemblies. Much attention was devoted to load path calculation, deflection and stress analysis, and weight reduction in order to satisfy the design goals imposed by the team.

SUSPENSION

The primary purpose of the suspension system is to maintain maximum contact patch between the tires and tarmac surface throughout all competition events. With a methodical consideration of all applicable variables, we designed and manufactured a sufficiently robust yet light weight suspension package. Particular interest was placed on the stress and deflection, applied loads and kinematics manifested throughout each and every part, and as such the optimum design was conceived to suit the whole car.

CONTROLS

All control systems on our car are designed to make a seamless transition between driver input and the performance of the vehicle. The braking system was sized by utilizing various vehicle dynamic equations in order to stop the vehicle as quickly as possible. The pedal assembly is designed in such a way to be as tightly packaged as possible while being ergonomic and allowing effortless and predictable control over the throttle and brakes. A shifting mechanism was also created to minimize shifting times while being as lightweight as possible. Finally, the electrical system is routed cleanly and color coordinated to be easy to understand.

BODY

The body is the quintessential element of the car which defines the aesthetics as well as aerodynamics. Our main priority was to design a body which is affordable to manufacture and visually pleasing while still retaining a low coefficient of drag. At the same time we also had to make sure our body panels are strong enough to cope with high speeds, hence why we utilized aircraft-grade carbon fiber panels which enable us to manufacture a body true to our ultra-low weight mantra.

DRIVETRAIN

In order to dampen the high cycle loading exerted by our Honda CRF 450-X engine, we designed a simple yet highly efficient floating drivetrain system. Several issues arise from a polyurethane-mounted engine.Continuous chain alignment to the rear sprocketbecomes impossible if the drivetrain is mounted to the chassis,thus a major design revision was necessary to accountfor this requirement. The result - a floating drivetrain box whichis attached directly to the engine.One secondary benefit to this design is the direct reactionload-path from spool-to-engine, which allows for a moreefficient and light weight drivetrain design.

dESIGN CRITERIA

To ensure a competitive design, we as a team must understand our competition and establish performance targets that are at least marginally better than our competitors. It then becomes our responsibility as development engineers to find a path to meeting those targets.

Sponsors

Dragonfly

Contact Us

Formula SAE

Mechanical Engineering Department

18111 Nordhoff Street, Northridge, CA 91330-8348

 

csun.fsae.2018@gmail.com