• Slide 1
  • Slide 2
  • Slide 3
  • Slide 3

Official Matador Motorsports Website

Our primary purpose is to design and manufacture a Formula SAE compliant race car, aimed to maximize points earned in every point scoring category of competition, while remaining within the resources available at CSUN.

Team

MANAGEMENT AND BUSINESS

Luiz Oliveira

Project Director

luiz.oliveira.423@my.csun.edu

Teodoro Navarro

CFO / Lead Aero

teodoro.navarro.3@my.csun.edu

DR. STEWART PRINCE

Faculty Advisor

sprince@csun.edu

 

CHASSIS DIVISION

Olegs Snicarenko

olegs.snicarenko.710@my.csun.edu

Shaunt Avanessian

shaunt.avanessian.527@my.csun.edu

Kwan Lee

kwanlee@live.com

 

COMPOSITES DIVISION

Mayra Montesinos

mayra.montesinos.436@my.csun.edu

Michael Ronge

michael.ronge.86@my.csun.edu

Johanna Lainez

johanna.lainez.155@my.csun.edu

Peter Fann

peter.fann.11@my.csun.edu

CONTROLS DIVISION

John Quintero

jmquintero88@gmail.com

jason gonzales

jason.gonzales.377@my.csun.edu

Kevin O'Fallon

kevin.ofallon.306@my.csun.edu

 

DRIVETRAIN DIVISION

Richard Ballare

richard.ballare.379@my.csun.edu

Ryan Camire

ryan.camire.750@my.csun.edu

Joseph Palumbo

joseph.j.palumbo@my.csun.edu

Jacky Shin

jacky.shin.628@my.csun.edu

Mike Cao

xforce1412@hotmail.com

 

POWERTRAIN DIVISION

Benjamin French

benjamin.french.21@my.csun.edu

Joey Lingua

jo3ybisque@gmail.com

Breeanna Blaise

sophia.blaise.256@my.csun.edu

Dana Bocci

dana.bocci.643@my.csun.edu

 

SUSPENSION DIVISION

Claudio Caprarella

claudio.caprarella.594@my.csun.edu

Brian Aliasghar

brian.aliasghar.218@my.csun.edu

Victor Akel

victor.akel.680@my.csun.edu

Joshua Augustine

joshua.augustine.48@my.csun.edu

Greg Carlson

gregory.carlson.998@my.csun.edu

car

ENGINE

The engine is the heart of the car’s propulsion system. Therefore, Matador Motorsports considers an engine package that is both lightweight and high performance a critical priority. To develop such an engine, the design focus was on simulating the impact of various changes to the intake and exhaust systems of the engine in order to optimize air flow and thus ensure high power output without compromising reliability and fuel efficiency.

CHASSIS

A racecar chassis serves two major functions; it provides a rigid structural foundation that defines the shape of the car, and it offers packaging solutions for all the components. Through an iterative design process we’ve created a chassis that safely encompasses the driver and efficiently houses all sub-assemblies. Much attention was devoted to load path calculation, deflection and stress analysis, and weight reduction in order to satisfy the design goals imposed by the team.

SUSPENSION

The primary purpose of the suspension system is to maintain maximum contact patch between the tires and tarmac surface throughout all competition events. With a methodical consideration of all applicable variables, we designed and manufactured a sufficiently robust yet light weight suspension package. Particular interest was placed on the stress and deflection, applied loads and kinematics manifested throughout each and every part, and as such the optimum design was conceived to suit the whole car.

CONTROLS

All control systems on our car are designed to make a seamless transition between driver input and the performance of the vehicle. The braking system was sized by utilizing various vehicle dynamic equations in order to stop the vehicle as quickly as possible. The pedal assembly is designed in such a way to be as tightly packaged as possible while being ergonomic and allowing effortless and predictable control over the throttle and brakes. A shifting mechanism was also created to minimize shifting times while being as lightweight as possible. Finally, the electrical system is routed cleanly and color coordinated to be easy to understand.

BODY

The body is the quintessential element of the car which defines the aesthetics as well as aerodynamics. Our main priority was to design a body which is affordable to manufacture and visually pleasing while still retaining a low coefficient of drag. At the same time we also had to make sure our body panels are strong enough to cope with high speeds, hence why we utilized aircraft-grade carbon fiber panels which enable us to manufacture a body true to our ultra-low weight mantra.

DRIVETRAIN

In order to dampen the high cycle loading exerted by our Honda CRF 450-X engine, we designed a simple yet highly efficient floating drivetrain system. Several issues arise from a polyurethane-mounted engine. Continuous chain alignment to the rear sprocket becomes impossible if the drivetrain is mounted to the chassis, thus a major design revision was necessary to account for this requirement. The result - a floating drivetrain box which is attached directly to the engine. One secondary benefit to this design is the direct reaction load-path from spool-to-engine, which allows for a more efficient and light weight drivetrain design.

dESIGN CRITERIA

To ensure a competitive design, we as a team must understand our competition and establish performance targets that are at least marginally better than our competitors. It then becomes our responsibility as development engineers to find a path to meeting those targets.

Contact Us

 

California State University Northridge

Attn. Formula SAE, Mechanical Engineering

18111 Nordhoff Street, Northridge, CA 91330

E-Mail: teodoro.navarro.3"at"my.csun.edu

(805) 331-1116